COWABUNGA RABBIT


Cranberry Walnut Cookies
Monday 28 January 2008, 4:37 AM
Filed under: cookies/bars, fruit

I love cranberries! And grapes, but that’s another story. I got this recipe from Baking Bites and modified it a little bit. Yields around 40 cookies.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • zest of one large orange
  • 1 cup chopped dried cranberries
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together.
  3. Beat in egg.
  4. Stir in orange zest.
  5. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  6. Combine flour mixture with butter/sugar mixture.
  7. Stir in cranberries and walnuts.
  8. Place rounded tablespoonfuls of dough onto ungreased baking sheets..
  9. Bake for 9-12 minutes (when bottom edges are golden brown).

Modifications

  • I definitely added more than a cup of walnuts and cranberries because I don’t know the meaning of control. Still tastes good though.
  • I’ve come to realize that I just don’t really care about salt all that much when I bake.

After Thoughts

Tasty tasty. Orange zest is amazing.

I didn’t have room temperature butter, so I microwaved it for a little bit, being careful not to melt it entirely. The butter was pretty hard though and it made the dough a little difficult to work, but the end result was fine. I baked the cookies for 10 minutes.

When these cookies cool, they get a kind of hard and they become like mini scones. Good times.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wonderfully delicious! I’m looking forward to the next recipe because that means I get to sample!

Comment by Jessica

hmmm … so when will i experience these lovely confections???

Comment by Christie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

