COWABUNGA RABBIT


Beth’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
Saturday 26 January 2008, 5:18 AM
Filed under: cookies/bars

Yes, the irony, I know.

Anyway, these are for some buddies of mine who definitely deserve all the sugar they can get their hands on. I got this recipe off All Recipes after a friend introduced them to me. Considering that I don’t like chocolate (long story), these cookies are pretty good, especially with nuts. Yields around 4 dozen cookies.

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup butter-flavored shortening
  • 2/3 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup any nut of your desire
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Cream butter, shortening, and sugar together until smooth.
  3. Beat in eggs, one at a time.
  4. Mix in vanilla.
  5. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl.
  6. Stir flour mixture into the butter/sugar mixture.
  7. Stir in chopped nuts and chocolate chips.
  8. Place rounded tablespoonfuls of dough onto ungreased baking sheets.
  9. Bake for 7-10 minutes.

Modifications

  • I didn’t have butter-flavored shortening, but regular shortening worked fine.
  • I ran out of vanilla and ended up using about 3/4 tablespoon; the cookies tasted not as sweet, which is a plus for me.
  • I never really understood the purpose of salt being the amateur that I am, so I didn’t add much – probably just a pinch and the cookies tasted fine.
  • I used mini chocolate chips because I like having the chocolate distributed evenly which sometimes can be difficult with normal-sized chips or chunks; also, I’m picky like no other.
  • I didn’t have light brown sugar, so I used dark brown and that was just dandy too.

After Thoughts

I liked them and so did my friend, haha. I had to at least try one and it was not too sweet, which is perfect. Seeing the amount of butter and shortening made me think of heart attacks, but I tend to ignore that… Maybe if I’m more experienced I’ll try to make this cookie healthier, but that’s not going to happen anytime soon, trust me.

Some reviews on this recipe at All Recipes stated concern about the amount of flour. Even my non-baker friend was wondering if the amount would dry the butter/sugar mixture out, but it doesn’t! Trust Beth, that’s all I gotta say.

Don’t over bake these cookies! They cook real fast and brown easily. I baked my cookies for 7-8 minutes and they came out pretty nicely.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

mmmm…chocolate. You should make them again. Hint. Hint.

Comment by jena

LOl… and you don’t like chocolate!

Comment by Carrie




Leave a Reply

