COWABUNGA RABBIT


Apple Bread
Friday 1 February 2008, 10:19 PM
Filed under: bread, fruit

My parents like to buy a gazillion apples, so I decided to see what I could do with them. This recipe is from Food Geeks with some changes. Yields one 9″x5″ loaf.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups diced apples
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chopped nuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 F.
  2. Combine oil, eggs, sugar, and vanilla.
  3. Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, salt, and nuts in a separate bowl.
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet.
  5. Stir in apples.
  6. Grease a 9″x5″ bread pan and pour in mixture.
  7. Bake for roughly 1 1/2 hours.

Modifications

  • I was generous with the apples and nuts as always.
  • Which type of apple to use was not specified, so I used Fuji apples since that’s all I have.
  • Dude, I was hella generous with the cinnamon.
  • I added the nutmeg after reading a few reviews on the site. Can’t really taste it since I added so much cinnamon, oh well.
  • I used pecans.

After Thoughts

When I was making the batter, it’s very stiff and soon becomes difficult to mix, but everything turned out all right, fortunately.

I’m not sure how it will taste cold, but when I ate a slice the loaf hadn’t cooled for more than 15 minutes and it was very moist. The diced apples were a nice touch, especially with the nuts and it wasn’t too sweet. Yay.

I ate a cooled slice later, the bread is still very moist and good. I would add more apples next time around because I just like more fruit over bread substance.

Overall, not a bad tasting bread, but I definitely prefer the more conventional banana bread (with oodles of cinnamon and nuts too). Still, give this bread a try if you get the chance.

  

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this looks good; if you still have leftover apples, try the apple cake recipe in my blog

i just joined the DB this month too, just checking out everyone else’s blogs, wanted to say hello :)

Comment by MrsPresley

Love the way the apples are in nice large chunks…looks really yummy. Nice photos, too!

Comment by Elle




Leave a Reply

