COWABUNGA RABBIT


Raspberry Oatmeal Bars
Friday 22 February 2008, 3:37 PM
Filed under: cookies/bars, fruit

I’ve always wanted to bake this, so I finally had the chance yesterday night. The recipe is from Joy of Baking. Yields around 16 2″ squares.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats – divided
  • 1 cup raspberry preserves

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar.
  3. Add egg and vanilla.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Add flour mixture to butter/sugar mixture.
  6. Stir in 1 3/4 cups of oats.
  7. Take 2/3 of the batter and press firmly onto the bottom of a greased 9″x9″ pan.
  8. Spread the preserves on top of the first layer.
  9. Stir in remaining 1/2 cup of oats into the leftover batter and crumble on top of preserves.
  10. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes.

Modifications

  • I chopped up a cup of walnuts and spread it on top.
  • I like oatmeal so I added more than 2 cups.

After Thoughts

I suspected these bars would be too sweet after I spread the preserves and I was right. The bars aren’t terrible tasting, but they’re very dense and very sweet (one keeps you full for awhile). They were chewy, which is good, but I wanted it to be more oatmeal-y. The added nuts were all right; I thought they took away from the sweetness, but my roommate thought there were a little too many of them, haha. Oh wells.

I might try a different recipe next time, or increase the amount of oats even more in this recipe. Also, I would not use a whole cup of preserves.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

