COWABUNGA RABBIT


Dark Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies
Saturday 22 March 2008, 3:45 AM
Filed under: cookies/bars

dsc02406.jpg

These are for my sister, adapted to her non-sweet tooth tastes. The recipe is from Marcy Goldman’s A Passion for Baking, with some changes.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted, softened butter
  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream together butter and sugars.
  3. Add vanilla and eggs.
  4. Stir in flour, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Scoop out 2-3 tablespoons of dough and place on parchment lined baking sheets.
  7. Bake for 10-18 minutes (depending on size). Cookies should be browned around the edges, beginning to color on top and seem dry to the touch.

Modifications

  • I had a brain fart and added in uh… 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda…hahaha.
  • My sister hates all things sweet, so I got 100% cacao and 60% cacao chocolate bars from Ghirardelli and chopped them up. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cups of the 100% chocolate and 1/2 cup of the 60% chocolate.
  • I excluded the 1/2 cup of white sugar.
  • I added 1 cup of chopped pecans.

After Thoughts

These cookies are not sweet so it’s not everybody’s cup of tea. As a chocolate-hater, I would prefer these over a standard chocolate chip cookie. The cookies are a little dense (one will hold you over for awhile). I was afraid of what the extra baking soda would do to the cookie, but it only seemed to make the cookies rise, rather than spread. I’d recommend the recipe; it’s not half bad. In any case, my sister approved of them so my job for the day is done.

dsc02401.jpg dsc02407.jpg dsc02408.jpg dsc02409.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

