COWABUNGA RABBIT


Banana Coconut Muffins
Saturday 5 April 2008, 7:20 AM
Filed under: fruit, muffins/scones

I think I have really bad luck with cakes. I had to bake that damn (but delicious) Party Cake three times. After that one, I created a disaster called a Crepe Cake. And then a supposed “Best-Ever Butter Cake” didn’t quite live up to its name. So I had to redeem myself somehow and I did so with this nice recipe from Epicurious. Yields around 8 muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed (3/4 cup)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 sweetened flaked coconut

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Line muffin tin with liners or grease/spray generously.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in one bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the bananas, butter, sugar, egg, vanilla, and 1/2 cup of coconut.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the wet.
  5. Divide batter among muffin cups.
  6. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup of coconut on top of batter.
  7. Bake for 25 minutes, or until muffins are puffed and golden.

Modifications

  • I used a little more than 1/3 cup of sugar.
  • I had to use three bananas (mine were pretty small).
  • I ended up with 7 muffins with nice big tops.

After Thoughts

Theses are good and surprisingly dense. Even though I cut out some of the sugar, the muffins were still pretty sweet. Next time I’ll try to use a little less than half of the amount of sugar. I like the coconut in the muffins; it provides a great texture and pairs well with the bananas.

This is a nice twist from the traditional banana muffins and banana bread recipes I usually use when I have overripe bananas. My only complaint is that the amount this recipe yields is really small! Seriously, only eight?! The fact that I ended up with seven (which is a prime number) sort of bothers me, but that’s beyond the point. The point is, these muffins are good so try them!

    Leave a Comment so far
    Leave a comment



    Leave a Reply

