COWABUNGA RABBIT


Homemade Oreos
Sunday 6 July 2008, 6:28 PM
Filed under: cookies/bars

I love Oreos. Give me a bag and I WILL DEMOLISH THEM. I’m such a force to be reckoned with, mwahaha. Anyway, these were for Toe Toe. After the difficult time I had with last week’s Box Bean Town, I decided that he deserved some cavities because these cookies are HELLA SWEET. They’re not bad, but I like my teeth, so I think I’ll stick with non-homemade Oreos… haha.

I got the recipe from Technicolor Kitchen.

Ingredients (Cookies)

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 large egg

Directions (Cookies)

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar.
  3. Add in butter and egg and mix until smooth.
  4. Drop rounded teaspoonfuls of dough onto the baking sheets and flatten them, spacing them 2 inches apart.
  5. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Ingredients (Cream Filling)

  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions (Cream Filling)

  1. Mix together butter and shortening.
  2. Beat in sugar and vanilla.
  3. Continue to beat until mixture is light and fluffy.

Assembling

  • Place about a rounded teaspoonful of the cream filling in between two of the chocolate cookies and press together.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Those look even more dangerous than regular Oreo’s!! I can totally relate to the ability to demolish a bag of Oreo’s. I don’t know what it is about them.

Great job, they look fantastic!

Comment by JacqueOH

I think that the filling is the issue here – the cookies alone are not that sweet.
They look fantastic, though!

Comment by Patricia Scarpin

dude, i thought you don’t do chocolate. we totally have to get together and eat oreos.

Comment by Irene




Leave a Reply

